1st European Innovation Area Summit

The historic Paris Agreement provides an opportunity for countries to strengthen the global response to the threat of climate change by keeping a global temperature rise this century well below 2 degrees Celsius and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase even further to 1.5 degrees Celsius. 

Goal 13, Climate Action, calls for urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts. It is linked to all 16 of the other Goals of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Negotiations on legislation related to the European Green Deal between the European Parliament, the Member States and the European Commission are ongoing and it is important to maintain ambitious targets if we want to avoid the breaking of planetary boundaries.

The discussions will also look into the new insights on climate impacts, vulnerability and adaptation from the latest report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.

The 1st European Innovation Area Summit is building on a series of EIA events from the past 18 months. Meanwhile many organisations and individuals have signed the EIA Manifesto and submitted ideas for actions. 

The ‘EIA Ideas of the Week’ are published on the conference website and will be handed over to Commissioner Mariya Gabriel. A selection of the proposed actions and ideas will be discussed at the EIA Workshop and with Commissioner Gabriel at the summit event. 

The event is organised at the time of the Commission Communication on Europe’s Future Innovation Agenda. This is a first exceptional opportunity to present and discuss ideas for the implementation of a new innovation policy agenda for Europe.

Roberta Metsola


Tom Berendsen

The Netherlands

Victor Negrescu


Lina Gálvez Muñoz


Maria da Graça Carvalho


Ivars Ijabs


Lambert van Nistelrooij

The Netherlands

Franc Bogovič


Michiel van Haersma Buma

Strategic advisor
University of Delft

David Vermaas

Associate Professor Dr.
Delft University of Technology

Behnam Taebi

Full Professor of Energy & Climate Ethics
Delft University of Technology

Herman Russchenberg

Pro Vice Rector Climate Action
Delft University of Technology

Marjolein van Esch

Assistant Professor
Delft University of Technology

Roland Strauss

Managing Director

Stefan Hengesbach

Dutch Quantum Computing company QuiX Quantum

Gustav Kalbe

Head of Unit of the newly created High Performance Computing and Quantum Technology unit;
DG Communications Networks; Content and Technology; European Commission

Thomas Skordas

Deputy Director-General
DG CONNECT; European Commission

Maud Vinet

Quantum Hardware program director

Menno Veldhorst

Associate Professor
QuTech/TU Delft

Kristiaan De Greve

Scientific director and program director
Quantum computing

Markku Räsänen

Owner of H9i Partners; Advisor of IQM
H9i Partners

Adriana Cabrera

EU Project funded: Network of labs for women sustainable materials: Innovation Consultant

Irene López de Vallejo


Natalie Samovich

Co-Founder ResilientGroup; Enercoutim. SB; chair WG Energy AIOTI. Chair ETIP-SNET WG1. Advancing Energy Transition
ResilientGroup / Enercoutim. SB / WG Energy AIOTI / ETIP-SNET WG1. Advancing Energy Transition

Bram Wijlands

Managing Director
RWTH Innovation GmbH

Victoria Hernández

Board Member (NED). Financial and Telecom Executive. C-level and Board serial member
CaixaBank Payments & Consumer

Arnold Chatelain

Director Digital Transformation and Innovation

Bianca Rangecroft


Africa G. Zanella

Gender officer at Lifewatch ERiC; Civil Society Observer to the World Bank Climate Investment Fund; Focal Point for Gender
ERiC / World Bank Climate Investment Fund

Simonetta Manfredi

Director of Research; Innovation and Enterprise; Professor of Equality and Diversity Management
Oxford Brookes University

Sarah Casey

Founder and CEO
Climate Council Capital

Jan Debets

Head of Operations
Business Angels Europe at BAE

Barbara Mounier

Head of Communications and Partner Strategy
Hydraloop Systems BV

Arvea Marieni

Partner & Board Member

Nadine Nembach

International Co-President of EWMD (European Women's Management Development); Member of the Board at EWoB (European Women on Board)

Jara Pascual

Founder and CEO

Ana Isabel Gálvez Pérez

PhD Engineer in Energy and Environment Technologies; Transformation Director.

Ilse Bakker

Investor Relations Manager
Nordic Secondary Fund

Marileen Dogterom

Chair; Department of Bionanoscience
Delft University of Technology

Jean-Christophe Baret

Professor and Research Group Leader
Univ. Bordeaux; CNRS & IUF

Esther Thole

Science journalist and writer

Zygmunt Krasiński

Polish Chamber of Commerce for High Technology

Pekka Koponen

Founder and Chair of Spinverse; President EAIC

Servaas Duterloo

Head of the EU Research Funding & International Programmes Unit of the Directorate of Strategic Development
Delft university of Technology

Mariya Gabriel

EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth
European Commission

Bernd Schäfer

EIT RawMaterials